Language learning odyssey procrastination?

So….when am I actually going to get around to *starting* my language learning odyssey? Well….joy to the world, the kids are home on school holidays….and throwing up mind, you. 5 family members affected. Oh what joy. Even the dog threw up the other day. Everyone except me….

Now lets’s see…I’ve reset all my LingQ stats to zero. Ordered some Assimil and Teach Yourself from Amazon – they must be sending it to Australia by row-boat, judging from the estimated delivery dates. I *do* have Michel Thomas in Chinese and Japanese. I have Assimil Chinese in my hands, yay.

Maybe my Chinese Odyssey can begin tomorrow?? Maybe the kids will go to bed without sick dramas…maybe husband will turn down the footy or the tennis or the Grand Prix or the rugby on the T.V. , who knows. Nowhere to go study in peace and quiet – no such animal exists. Not complaining, mind you. (not really). Life is good.

Granted, I have some Chinese under my belt from Uni, but really I’m still an A1 beginner. It won’t take long for me to revise everything I know.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Language learning odyssey procrastination?

  1. As Benny from Fluent in 3 months keeps saying, there are 7 days in the week, someday isn’t one of them. 🙂 I know easier said than done, but don’t think about tomorrow, just start today and do as much as you can and go from there. One day at a time. Good luck!

    • Thanks for that, Daniela! Coincidentally, I commenced my “Chinese Odyssey” yesterday, and posted it on LingQ site. I like Benny, too. He gets a lot of criticism for his style, but I like the guy. He is out there having a go at things and succeeding. He inspires a lot of people, despite being unconventional. Btw, I intend to study Arabic, too, later on. I was thinking of starting with Egyptian Arabic when I do, and then learn the MSA version. Are you learning MSA, or a spoken dialect? Cheers

      • Congrats! The first step is always the hardest.
        I’m with you, it’s easy to criticize other people but few have achieved what Benny has. He has my respect. His methods may not work for everyone but he is truly inspiring.
        I see you saw my post on the MSA vs dialect debate. 🙂

  2. Ah, I see you answer that question in your blog, “Learning Arabic”. It was great! I am still getting the hang of WordPress. Haha!

Leave a Reply

